CONTACT:              Water Forest Press
A subsidiary of Skyline Publications

C/o Victoria Valentine, publisher and editor
New York, USA






 “End Of A Voyage – a Sailor’s home is a tranquil bay”, is a new collection of poetry by Jan Oskar Hansen, Copyright 2007, 100 pages, softcover price: US$17.00.  Published by Water Forest Press, New York, USA,, ISBN 10:0-9723493-5-9; ISBN 13: 978-0-9723493-5-2.


This latest collection of poetry and short prose by Jan Oskar Hansen exemplifies immense personal and artistic maturity.  Hansen seems to re-set the bar with each book he writes – much like good whiskey  .. improving with age and experience. 


Jan Oskar Hansen has what is referred to in Norwegian (the land of his birth and youth) as “bakkekontakt” (a sense of reality).  Hansen’s work often leaves an almost bittersweet chocolate aftertaste, with the effect that the reader is invariably left with a craving for more.  Perhaps the most striking and enticing aspect of these short stories in poetic prose form is also that which makes them somewhat “uncomfortable”: Hansen ingeniously presents contemporary issues and personal experience in a way that is immediately digestible, both honest and humorous in its portrayal of humanity; and which cleverly pulls the reader so easily into the reasoning of the stories told that one cannot help but to question one’s own personal values upon reflection.  His experiences and his viewpoints suddenly become those of the reader, and in order to satisfy the yearning to learn more about oneself one simply has to continue slavishly from poem to poem .. and perhaps even to take a second read-through upon reading the last words in the book.


In conclusion, End Of A Voyage – a Sailor’s home is a tranquil bay is for all who are looking for a reading experience that goes far beyond the boundaries of traditional poetry; reaching into the psychology and the humour of the human condition.


About the author:

Jan Oskar Hansen, a Norwegian expatriate, has published a wealth of poems, including individual works published in various anthologies, on the internet, and three collections which previously have been published in book form: Letters from Portugal (BeWrite Books, UK 2003), Lunch in Denmark (Lightningsource, UK 2005) and La Strada (Lapwing, Belfast 2006). See also Jan Oskar's website:


(Book cover image by courtesy of Water Forest Press.)  For more information, please contact Victoria Valentine at .


 Reviewed by Adam Donaldson Powell